Stop. Look at branding customer experience.

Image credit: WarbyParker.com

Image credit: WarbyParker.com, (Headline and logo added.)

Remember the first customer experience that had you falling hard for a brand? I’m not talking about a nice, warm customer service buzz, (although those are great too), or about becoming obsessed with a product.

When was the last time you made a purchase and walked away feeling like you made a new friend?

Mine was last week with online eyewear retailer and current crush, WarbyParker. Warby Parker sells vintage-inspired prescription glasses at prices that make people smile. The company hit the 500,000 pair mark just last year, and like TOMS Shoes, Warby gives away one pair for each pair purchased.

You can browse WarbyParker.com, upload your photo for a virtual try-on or try up to five pairs free and delivered-to-your-door. The experience makes purchasing simple, but the smallest details are what shapes an unforgettable brand experience.

Here’s what marketers can take from Warby’s meticulously crafted customer approach:

1. Excitement is contagious.

After ordering my home trials, this message popped into my Inbox:

“Get excited!” And guess what? I was.

Good things await you, read the box that arrived read in a bold white font face three extra pairs hand-selected based on my style were safely stashed inside with the two pairs I ordered for try-on.

2. Everyone at your company is your brand.

Anyone I interface with from your company is representing your brand. I emailed back and forth with a couple of Warby Parker representatives and both responded with the same concise, quirky tone I came to know and love from the websites and eBlasts.

Their signatures even included a Sunglasses I’m wearing call-out, with the name and link to their current pair.

3. Ditch confirmations for a friendly follow-up.

Throughout the customer experience, my Inbox was bubbling over with clever one liners, neat sketch graphics and the company’s soft, signature blue.

Warby Parker sent me messages to let me know when the trial pairs were on their way, then to urge me to show of the sample frames to my friends and colleagues once arrived and even to let me know when they received by shipment back:

Each message was customized to exactly where I was in the sales cycle, but none of them felt automated. They were friendly. They were fun. And they made the brand feel larger than a business, it felt like a new friend. (For those of you who are curious, I ordered the Holcombs.)

Which brands top your list? What was the customer experience that won you over?

 

Leave a Reply

